My Walk With God – Marlene Keyte

I grew up in a poor home, surrounded with family that were God orientated and full of love. My mum Nesamoney would sing whilst doing her household chores that began my love for singing hymns in English and Tamil.

My dad Philip worked full time and also dedicated his life doing the Lord’s work. We did not see much of him. My parents instilled in us a deep sense of love for God and taught us about dedication and commitment to the Lord’s work, to read the Bible and pray daily. I attended Sunday School, choir, and youth group.

My dad was involved in the “running” of the Clairwood Methodist Church with Rev Lawrence, a humble and loving man.

At the age of 15, I attended with my dad, my first Council Meeting and Quarterly Meeting. I was very interested in the discussions and programmes for the future. That began my walk with God.

We had a large congregation, and I became very involved in the activities in the Church. At first I was not committed, slowly but surely, I dedicated myself to His work.

My brothers, Sol, (Rev Dr Sol Jacob), now in Pietermaritzburg (in South Africa), and Mannie (Rev Dr Emmanuel Jacob), is a minister too and is now a Supernumerary Minister living in Bristol (in the UK).

My dad Philip, my late brother Nathaniel, and my sister, Angelene, all became Local Preachers in the Methodist Church. My mum was Treasurer of the Women’s Auxiliary and did fund raising.

I read the scriptures, led singing of hymns, when I went with my brother Nathan and my dad when they preached in other churches.

In the latter years, our congregation decreased as people moved to other areas. We did not have a full time minister. I became responsible for the running of the Church with help from ministers.

I was involved, as Sunday School teacher and Superintendent, Bible studies for the children, led Praise and Worship, Intercession, and then also later on, became a Society Steward, Trust Steward, and Treasurer.

The responsibilities were sometimes overwhelming and difficult. “A prophet is not honoured in his hometown’.  A difficult road and I wanted to quit. My parents prayed and encouraged me, I persevered. I linked in overnight prayer once a month with Maggie my friend from the Pentecostal church.

The Lord never passed me by as I reached out to Him. I always was so grateful to the Lord for the strength He gave me to carry on.

The church became my life, other than work and family.  In 1979 I began working as Administrative Secretary at the Community Care Centre which had its offices at the Clairwood Methodist Church. I received a car.

This opened many doors from assisting the unemployed and opening various projects in and around Durban. I saw poverty for the first time. As a qualified Nursery School Teacher with staff walking the streets of Montford, the Merrytime Playcentre was established at the Montford Church.

Through God’s grace, while working at the Community Care Centre, I was chosen to go to Israel on a fully paid Pilgrimage in 1980 when Bishop Desmond Tutu had a vision of sending 144 young people. I had an awesome experience in the Garden Tomb.

I also visited Taizé in France, and met many young people in this community.

On my return, I faced a difficult personal problem. Pain and suffering, a feeling of dread and fear and no one to turn to. God in His grace and mercy, held me in the palm of His hands. In despair I turned to the Lord, I was not forsaken, He delivered me. Praise God for the deliverance.

In 1983 the Centre due to lack of funding and I was asked to seek alternative employment.

The Lord was so gracious, I immediately found employment in a similar field at the South African Typographical Union, and worked with unemployed people, arranging benefits payments

I encountered people who were involved in the occult, something I had no experience in previously.

This was such a negative environment. Pastor Hurri Singh taught me about spiritual warfare. Thereafter, every Wednesday evening, I led intercession.

 

Carl Singh, now a Pastor of New Life ministries, spoke this verse to me: Jeremiah 29:11 “ For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”. This raised my hope”.

 

Amazing as God is, I was allowed during these working hours to do the Lord’s work, with help from the staff. . Some staff knew the Lord as their personal Saviour.

The Lord gave me the victory.  We are more than conquerors through Jesus Christ. We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.

I praised God through it all. The Lord always raised me up and set my feet on higher ground.

In 1984 I returned to Israel, to visit my friends there, and renewed my commitment to the Lord.

And in 1989, I had a call to preach and Rev Lawrence approached me to become a Local Preacher. I did not answer immediately.

The church sent me to a seminar in Johannesburg. Here, I fell on my knees in repentance. The Holy Spirit came upon me and I began to cry in such sobs, for quite awhile, not knowing why.

I received the baptism of the Holy Spirit.  The Lord has blessed me with many gifts and talents, and I am ever so thankful for His blessings, including a gift for Christian cross stitching.

I knew of the peace that passeth all understanding and felt renewed and filled with joy. I answered the call to preach and I have not turned back since. The Lord has been my refuge and my strength.

I had been blessed in visiting many countries and many places in SA, some of them were all paid for. God is good.

The Lord has always walked with me wherever I went. Where He sends I will go. I was elected Local Preachers District Secretary, a post I held for 12 years, and travelled to many Seminars, Conventions and Synod.

In 1994, my nephew Jeremy (19) shot himself, and 6 months later he went to be with the Lord. Encounter with tragedy. Emotionally drained, numbed and devastated.

I questioned God, I talked to Him about my anger and hurt and slowly but surely, He healed my broken heart. God seemed far away.  I “Cast your burdens unto Jesus”.

Through experiences with tragedy, death of my parents, illness, God has been there every step of the way.  Sometimes, I fell apart, turning to Him in prayer, He raised me up.

My dad, in May 2009 (91) the Lord took him home. He was such a wonderful and kind hearted, caring and loving person. He taught me all about the work and love for God and community.

He had dedicated is life to doing the Lord’s work. I felt the emptiness. Emotionally, I felt drained, and I once again turned to my Lord and my God. The Lord had His hands upon me, and once again uplifted my spirit.

I became linked with other Churches in the area. Arranged the community Carol service in the street corner where people of all faiths became involved until December 2011.

God gave me an opportunity to teach a choir in Tamil.

I became interested in learning about alternative healing and Reiki and Geoffrey was recommended, by a friend as being the best in this field. So I contacted him in October 2010 and I began to learn about different kinds of healing.

My sister and I built a house, and I moved in, in April 2011. All was not well, I thought it was the best thing for me, but God had His own plan for my life. June 2011, I prayed to find someone who would walk this spiritual journey with me.

I had an invitation from Geoffrey to visit him in South Wales (UK) in April 2012. Mannie was then living in Slough, UK, so I also visited him.

God really has a sense of humour, single and independent, capable and available, no intention of being married, I was engaged before I returned to Durban in May 2012.

In October 2012 God had taken me from a comfort zone and placed me in a wilderness experience. I had never been so helpless in my life. Geoffrey was so ill, he nearly died.  Proverbs 3:5 – Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

Through faith and prayer God in His mercy healed and restored and renewed Geoffrey’s life. We were married in January 2013.

A great surprise to all, including me. A better man I can never ask for. God has given me the most wonderful, caring and loving husband.

I have membership at the Beaufort Hill Methodist Church and am continuing as a local Preacher.

In Wales, the Lord has made me “Be still and know that He is God”.

I know that God will never fail me, even though I have doubted and failed him many times. Perfect I am not but I know that Jesus washed and cleansed me with His blood and will always be my Saviour, my Lord and my God.

Though Geoffrey and I face challenges, and I had to return home every six months we placed all our trust in God, and in February 2015 I was given my Spouse Visa by the UK Government.

Praise and Glory to the Almighty God.

*********************************************************************

My wife’s ‘Walk With God’ is a very powerful testimony.

I would love to receive your Testimony of Faith – and where your Walk With God has taken you to.

Please send your Testimony to me at:-

Geoffrey@mywalkwithgod.net

 

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

Published by

geoffreymkeyte

I am an author and broadcaster. In January 2013 I very nearly died but our Father God healed me and I am still alive to tell the tale! I have written/edited several books about the Bible, God, the Holy Spirit and Jesus. My future ministry is focused on outreach. I do not just want to preach to the converted but to many people 'out there' who do not know Jesus as their Saviour and who are in great need of His love and compassion. Praise be to the Lord our God, our Heavenly Father

Leave a Reply

