Taking The Blame

A T a monthly meeting called “Time for Tea”, members were asked to bring a story about their childhood, that might be of interest to others.

After a few moments’ thought, I remember the following which I had never been able to understand:

When I was at junior school, I was very shy and withdrawn, and always afraid of doing wrong. One day I was standing by the front gate of our house, watching another girl of about the same age chalking on the side of a house some distance away.

I knew she didn’t attend the same school as I, or live in that home, and I thought how naughty she was. Just then, the Headmistress of the school I attended walked past. She didn’t say anything, but the next day she sent for me and gave me a lecture about other people’s property; she told me to take a mop and bucket, and go and wash the chalk from the side of the house.

I was terrified, and as I followed her instructions was really concerned that my mother would come out and see what I was doing. Finishing the task and returning to the school that was down the road from where I lived, I found that the punishment was not yet over.

The Headmistress kept a long mirror in her room, and I was told to stand in front of it and look at myself and think about my wrongdoing. This is what I could never understand. Was it wrong to watch someone else doing wrong?

As I relived those memories, I saw that what happened to me related to the Lord Jesus, though in His case in a much deeper and meaningful way: He took my punishment on the Cross, although He did no wrong.

My responsibility is to pray about the wrong I see in the world, and for those who need to find the Lord. “To the Lord your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it.

(Elizabeth Bruce)

*****************************************************************

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

 

Published by

geoffreymkeyte

I am an author and broadcaster. In January 2013 I very nearly died but our Father God healed me and I am still alive to tell the tale! I have written/edited several books about the Bible, God, the Holy Spirit and Jesus. My future ministry is focused on outreach. I do not just want to preach to the converted but to many people 'out there' who do not know Jesus as their Saviour and who are in great need of His love and compassion. Praise be to the Lord our God, our Heavenly Father

Leave a Reply

