The Father, Son and Holy Spirit: I Bow My Head In Humble Gratitude

My life and future ministry may have been considerably shorter if it were not for the intercession of my loving wife, Marlene.

The powerful prayer of faith – and with the grace of God – brought me miraculous healing and salvation in February 2013. But what if Marlene had not taught me to pray?

Before I met Marlene I was a serial sinner; I must have broken at least half of the 10 commandments during my life!

I started to become unwell in August 2012 and by the time that Marlene flew to the UK to be with me, from her South African home, in October 2012. I could hardly walk.

I was in complete denial, having not needed to visit a doctor for more than 40 years.

My legs grew worse with every passing day, and water was (literally) pouring out from open wounds on both legs.

Whilst I was still in a state of denial (I somehow assumed that my legs would get better all by themselves) Marlene was inspired to wash my legs with turmeric powder twice a day.

I have never experienced pain like it! I have a very low pain threshold at the best of times and I was almost in perpetual agony.

I am not sure how Marlene put up with all my complaining about the pain – I think she must have worn ear muffs because she never seemed to hear my moans and carried on relentlessly with washing my legs with turmeric powder.

Soon after our Marriage on January 16th 2013, I was so very ill that Marlene might easily have become a widow shortly thereafter!

I knew that Marlene was very worried about me – so I asked for a doctor to do a home visit.

After the doctor had examined me, she prescribed a large number of tablets. But she told me later that she truly didn’t expect me to last that night!

She also made the necessary arrangements for the District Nurse to visit me once a day to wash my legs and to re-bandage them.

And, a few days later, a hospital bed was delivered and installed in our lounge, so I could sleep downstairs, close to the bathroom.

I know that Marlene, at times, must have felt as if she had been abandoned. She was living in a new country, far away from all her family and friends and everything she knew. She was also looking after a very sick husband, who might easily have left for Higher Pastures any day.

One day – when I was hovering between two worlds – Marlene told me that she sense the Spirit of Death surrounding me.

Marlene had been a lay Methodist Preacher since 1989.

I was actually brought up in a Methodist Sunday School which I attended until I was 8 years old. But in the intervening years between then and January 2013 I knew that God existed but I didn’t truly know Him.

I was desperate. I thought that I would never walk again. I had no future. And I was only just married………………….

Marlene taught me how to pray. First, The Lord’s Prayer. And pray I did. By myself and with Marlene.

I repented of all my past sins and misdeeds and entered into a new and wonderful relationship with our Father God. I prayed several times a day.

I read the Bible and re-introduced myself to all the many miracles performed by Jesus. I read that what humans find impossible, God makes possible.

I needed a miracle.

I discovered that I was suffering from oedema. I had several large wounds and loose skin on both my legs and water was running down my legs from the wounds.

The District Nurse came every day to wash my legs and to change my bandages. When exposed to the air, my legs were much the same every day. And, as it was winter, even with the central heating on 24/7 my poor old legs were in almost perpetual pain as the coldness was absorbed into my open wounds!

But one truly memorable night, I couldn’t sleep, so I prayed and prayed and prayed; for a miracle healing. I prayed that when the District Nurse came to see me the next day to wash my legs and to change my bandages, all the wounds on both my legs would be healed and that all the open wounds would be closed up.

And thus it came to pass that God heard my prayers and graciously answered my prayers.

When the District Nurse visited me the next day, she was astonished that all my open wounds on both my legs were closed and healed.

I knew then, as I know now, that God does not only want us to have faith in Him, but also to trust Him.

Knowing and understanding what I know now, I firmly believe that God had never any intention to allow me to die because of the future work that He wishes Marlene and I to do together.

I have had to re-learn to walk, I am now registered as being disabled and I have a mobility scooter.

But even having to live with my continued disability I know – and accept – that that is all part of God’s Divine Plan.

My Journey with the Holy Spirit has not yet finished; in fact it has only just begun!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

Published by

geoffreymkeyte

I am an author and broadcaster. In January 2013 I very nearly died but our Father God healed me and I am still alive to tell the tale! I have written/edited several books about the Bible, God, the Holy Spirit and Jesus. My future ministry is focused on outreach. I do not just want to preach to the converted but to many people 'out there' who do not know Jesus as their Saviour and who are in great need of His love and compassion. Praise be to the Lord our God, our Heavenly Father

Leave a Reply

